Mind maps: A mental tailwind

I have become a little obsessed with mind maps over the last five years <http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mind_map&gt;. Since I’m a life-long right brainer images often speak more efficiently to me than words. Organizing my ideas in a graphical, less linear way has helped me with a variety of tasks, everything from designing wireless networks to preparing for the IABC accreditation exam.

The process of creating a mind map is like a mental tailwind for me. Our thinking is naturally radiant –as opposed to linear– so being able to organize ideas as they occur rather than forcing them into a linear format creates clearer solutions (at least for me). Something extra happens when I put pen to paper to create a mind map. The process of creating a graphic document seems to stimulate idea production in a non-linear way. Also, if you tend toward the ADD end of the learning continuum (which I do) mind mapping seems a lot more natural than a traditional outline. Typically, I have a lot of effort invested in my mind maps so I hang on to them…which can be very useful.

Author Tony Buzan has created one of the best books on mind mapping <http://www.amazon.com/Mind-Map-Book-Thinking-Potential/&gt; which includes many excellent mind map examples.

Keith

~ by keithphilpott on November 5, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
