Portable lighting

I have a thing for LED light panels (see links) The first time I saw one in the wild was the lobby of the Times Square W Hotel. A film crew was setting up an interview shot with one video camera and one 12 inch square LED light panel. I was immediately filled with equipment lust. I’ve searched the web and trolled a few blogs but have not heard of any still photographers using the constant source LED panels.

It looks like an excellent lighting solution for the traveling photographer. I could see this as a simple, off camera light with no sync cords to worry about. Without actually using one it’s hard to know exactly how much light the units can produce but the cool running LEDs fixes a major complaint with constant source quartz light….heat.

keith

~ by keithphilpott on February 14, 2008.

Leave a comment