My Moleskine Kindle2 case

p1000647p1000642I never go anywhere without a Moleskine notebook . It’s a repository for ideas, to-do lists, phone numbers and anything else that needs paper and pen to record. I cover the outside with coffee labels, ticket stubs, security stickers….anything that allows me to identify the filled note books as they stack up in my office. When my Kindle2 arrived I wanted to find a case that looked a little more organic that the ones that were popping up everywhere. I trimmed out a few pages from this  5.25 x 8.25 inch plain notebook and added a custom skin to create a stealthy e-reader. The elastic band holds everything in place when closed and then stabilizes the Kindle when the notebook is open in the reading position.

~ by keithphilpott on April 6, 2009.

10 Responses to “My Moleskine Kindle2 case”

  1. this is awesome, ive had my kindle for a few weeks now and have been really frustrated with the lack of creative cases that are available, my biggest worry is scrathing or cracking the screen, but it seems this is definietly an idea to try!! how did u make the skin? thanx – megday@doodlesbyday.com

  2. This one is pretty easy to make. I just trimmed out half of the pages on my full Moleskine. The Kindle2 rests in the space where the pages used to be. It’s all held in place by the elastic band that comes on the Moleskine. When you open the notebook to read, the elastic band is repositioned so it holds the Kindle2 in place. It’s not super secure but it works. You can find skins for almost everything here

  3. […] more at Paradox Place or […]

  4. very good idea. i see you like to use starbucks coffee stickers on your moleskine as well. good choice.

  5. Nothing like putting an electronic-book-type-reading device into a bookish case.

  6. […] night in about an hour: Here’s a link to the entire set on Flickr. Basically, I’d seen this Kindle 2 Moleskine Case, which basically just ripped out a chunk of the pages of a Moleskine and replaced them with the […]

  7. Wow! That’s a great idea and turned out really well 🙂

  8. Thanks. I’d like to add the connector that factory Kindle cases come with but I’m not sure where to get one. Some people have bought new cases just for the connector and then added it to their homebrew case.

  9. in this era, many gadget will come to and we can enjoy with technology and keep reading anywhere. I love to get it once when money enough ..
    Thanks for technology

  10. Bought one of the refurbished Kindle 2 units at Amazon.com and I think they are pretty good for the money paid (no complaints so far). I did have a hard time finding a case for it since it is an older model. However, found a small company that makes a pretty good sleeve for this unit and sells them for only $8.95 with free freight at http://www.nuvo-tek.com.

    By the same token, if anyone knows of where I can buy a case (not a sleeve) that is a good fit for this Kindle unit.

    Thanks,

Leave a Reply

 
