Goodbye yellow boxes

Kodak announced Monday that it will discontinue making Kodachrome. This is little surprising to me as I thought Kodachrome had long ago left the building. KR

The NYTimes piece doesn’t give a date when production will end, just that Kodak has made the announcement. I’d guess there are more than a few bricks hiding out in the freezers of old National Geographic photographers. The article lists Dwayne’s Photo in Parsons, KS as the only place to get Kodachome processed…that lasts until 2010.

In the meantime, I may just run a roll through the M4 for old time’s sake.

~ by keithphilpott on June 23, 2009.

One Response to “Goodbye yellow boxes”

  1. Linda, you are so right about the smell of photography. I was at the dentist yesterday and I told the woman checking my teeth, “I love it when your hands smell like fixer.” That’s one of the reasons I like this place…they still soup the X-ray film.

Leave a Reply

 
