Google Earth: My new favorite tool

If you’re a photographer and you’re not using Google Earth to make better pictures, you’re missing one of the most significant photography tools in recent years.
Case in point, I have a shoot coming up at the Hoover Dam in a couple of weeks. I have shot in this area many times but will be shooting a different subject this time.
Google Earth’s sunlight time-slider gives me an approximate sun path so I can see where the shadows are falling at different times. It’s not a complete substitute for a scouting trip but it helps me zero in on optimum shoot times.
This is in addition to all the photos already uploaded to Panoramio which help me plan where to shoot from. I used this extensively on a recent trip to China to get a photo preview of the area. Hint: clusters of the little blue Panoramio boxes on Google Earth quickly alert you to heavily traveled (and photographed) locations.
Once you figure out where you want to go, switch over to Google Maps to plan your route. I even used Google Street View to check what looked like a gated entrance to a side road.

~ by keithphilpott on July 23, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
