Stranded on a desert island with one camera body and one lens

OK, I’m not the guy that has a golf analogy for everything in life. However….there is a scene in the movie Tin Cup where Kevin Costner’s character breaks all the clubs in his bag except the 7 iron. He then proceeds to play every shot with that one club…you know where this is going.

So, what camera and what lens would it be? If you could only choose one body and one lens which ones would you choose?

Today, my choice would have to be a Nikon D3 mated with a Nikkor 24-70 f2.8 zoom lens. This comes up way short on the long end and I don’t even consider a 24 to be a reasonable wide-angle. Having said that, this lens and this body together equal more than the sum of the parts.

One of the unintended consequences of rapidly evolving camera bodies is that if the lenses don’t keep up it’s painfully apparent. A camera that shows so much detail that the imperfections of the lens become visible (the current Nikkor 70-200 2.8 comes to mind) leaves us wanting. The D3 has enough resolving power to reveal such imperfections in a lens, the 24-70 f 2.8 has none that I’ve found yet.

What are your choices? Do you think this will change a year from now? How?

~ by keithphilpott on August 20, 2009.

One Response to “Stranded on a desert island with one camera body and one lens”

  1. So I’m looking for a new lens. I was debating the 16-35 or the 24-70. Guess how I found your post? I googled “stranded island one lens” lol. Problem with the 16-35 is distortion. Problem with the 24-70 is not wide enough. While a new version of a 24-70 is coming out, I’m missing out on a lot of shots I could get in this range since all I have is a 50. If only I’d listened to other posts saying, “DON’T GO WITH THE KIT LENS!” So true and so frustrating to be limited by crap that’s affordable *now*.

Leave a Reply

 
