Wired’s top 10 photo peeves

Gee, maybe I just haven’t had enough caffeine yet but I disagree with three out of the first four on Wired’s Top Ten Photo Peeves list.

Please tell me if I’m off base but wide angle verticles, HDR captures and shutter lag…..please.  As a general rule if technique gets in the way of content there’s a potential problem. Usually when I look at a photo I consume it first as a viewer. At this level I’m looking at the content,  I don’t really care how the image was made.  Later, as a photographer, I may deconstruct it  or if it’s an amazing image I could just stare at it in envy.

This list seems so arbitrary to me. Have I been off-planet? I’m trying to pay attention. Will square images, short depth of field and the color red be on the peeve list next year?

~ by keithphilpott on August 24, 2009.

One Response to “Wired’s top 10 photo peeves”

  1. Where are the pictures of Dean Edell??

Leave a Reply

 
