The Eyeworm Turns

OK, I know this is not healthy but three days after the fact I’m STILL ruminating on Wired’s Top Ten Photo Peeves. It’s like one of those songs that keeps playing in your head (BTW, is a photo stuck in your head called an “eyeworm”?). Suzanne Salvo asked me if I had my own list so in the interest of answering her question (and some self-therapy) I’ll take a whack at it.

So here’s my list:

*When someone is looking at one of my photographs and says, “wow, did you do something to this?” Uuuuuh, yes.

*The idea that photographic talent is innate. If there is innate talent, it’s the self discipline that allows you to keep shooting….failure after failure until you finally get it right.

*When someone starts with  “you can’t really see it in my photo but…..” If you can’t see it, put it in the podcast.

*Leica wearers.

*Photos of people holding up the Leaning Tower of Pisa or pinching the sun between their thumb and finger. These things MIGHT have been cute the first time but  have evolved into visual fingernails on a blackboard.

*Dwelling on photographic technique. Content is king. Who cares how it was made.

Surely, I’ve offended someone. Speak.

~ by keithphilpott on August 27, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
