Why photographers will love the Apple tablet

A ten-inch, color screen for starters. Actually…for enders, too.

If you’re like me, showing images on an iPhone/iTouch doesn’t provide enough screen real estate and dragging out a laptop is often inconvenient. On a plane it’s impossible. The convergence of portability and viewer experience seems to point to a tablet device.  This is the number one reason I want a tablet. (If you have only caught snippets of the coming of the Apple tablet, John Siracusa has an excellent primer at ars technica).

The biggest problem I predict I’ll have with the tablet  is one I already have. And, that problem is getting images out of Lightroom and into iPhoto for syncing to my iTouch. Right now I’m exporting jpegs out of Lightroom and then re-importing into iPhoto for syncing. I can live with this now but I expect to have a much larger selection of photos on the the tablet. I’d be interested in how other people are handling this.

~ by keithphilpott on January 11, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
