The Tablet will take off where the Kindle stops

I always tend toward the obsessive end of the continuum….especially when it comes to new technology. I just wish the tablet would come out so I can stop thinking about it. This Wired piece is a reminder why this device (assuming it happens) will become a tool I use every day. Even though the Kindle has become my go-to device for consuming books and keeping all my equipment manuals within arms reach it fails miserably at reproducing photos and illustrations. The Tablet portends to change this.

The Apple tablet probably won’t change my photography book-buying habits. I collect these and can’t image an electronic version ever replacing dead tree media. However, I also buy a lot of books that rely heavily on photography to communicate the message. Two that come to mind are Joe McNally’s “The Hot Shoe Diaries” and David duChemin’s “Within the Frame: The Journey of Photographic Vision”. Neither one of these is available on the Kindle but I wouldn’t want them in that format.

These are instructional books that I’ll refer to over time and would like to have in my bag when I’m traveling. (As a strategic traveler there is little room in my bags for bulky, dead tree media.) Being able to have a library of this material on a portable device that can display photography in a meaningful way will be  huge for me. I already pack travel books on my Kindle but these fall short many times since I’m interested how a place “looks”.

~ by keithphilpott on January 13, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
